Call for application to the 2011 World Habitat Awards


Two awards are given annually to projects that provide practical and
innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems, from the
global South as well as the North.

World Habitat Awards

year an award of £10,000 is presented to each of the two winners at the
annual United Nations global celebration of World Habitat Day.

As well as international recognition, an in addition to the awards of £10,000 made to
each of the two winning projects, trophies will also be presented to the
winning projects, and travel and accommodation costs will be met for
one representative of each winning project to attend the awards

The World Habitat Awards are presented each year at the global
celebration of World Habitat Day. This is organised each year on the
first Monday of October by the United Nations Human Settlements
Programme (UN-HABITAT), providing a unique opportunity to focus
attention on the importance of shelter in people’s lives.  

date, ceremonies have been held in China (2010). the United States of
America (2009, 1993 and 1992), in Angola (2008),Netherlands and Mexico
(2007), Italy and Russia (2006), Indonesia (2005), Kenya (2004), Brazil
(2003 and 1995), Belgium (2002), Japan (2001), Jamaica (2000), People’s
Republic of China (1999), Dubai (1998), Germany (1997), Hungary (1996),
Senegal (1994), and the USA (1993 and 1992).  

If you would like to submit to Stage I of the WHA 2011 competition, your submissions must be received by 1st November 2011.

For additional information, please consult: